Circle Wide
Orange Then Blue
Upcoming gigs
Trio This: Barney McAll, Matt Pavolka, George Schuller
GM Recordings GM3050
1) Pug Nose - Wayne Shorter 6:54
2) Where It Stops, Nobody Knows - Barney McAll 4:40
3) Flashback - Barney McAll 6:13
4) Langham - Geoffrey Shaw 6:17
5) Lava Lamp - George Schuller 7:15
6) Duke - Barney McAll 4:55
7) Nice Exit - George Schuller 6:39
8) Dreamsville - Mancini/Livingston/Evans 6:05
9) Get That Soul - Les McCann 6:35
10) Ten Days of Silence - Barney McAll 6:32

[To purchase That, please visit GM Recordings ]

[To download That, please visit iTunes ]

Barney McAll, piano & chucky; Matt Pavolka, bass; George Schuller, drums & bells.

Recorded at Bennett Studios, Aug 29, 2007 & Feb 18, 2008

The Jazz Piano Trio has long been the preferred format for many of our greatest pianists…first established by the likes of Earl Hines, Teddy Wilson, Bud Powell, Thelonious Monk, Oscar Peterson, Wynton Kelly, Red Garland, Bill Evans and continued to this day by such sonic mavericks as Herbie Hancock, Keith Jarrett, Hank Jones, Cecil Taylor, and Brad Melhdau, among many others. Co-leaders Barney McAll & George Schuller follow this rich tradition only as a launching pad for new ideas and pathways yet undiscovered. Joined by bassist Matt Pavolka, Trio This will keep one eye planted on history while the other searches for the nearest exit.

GM Recordings is proud to announce an exciting new recording from Trio This entitled That (GM3050CD) to be released this December 2009. This is a collaborative project between Schuller and McAll, their first trio recording featuring originals from both composers as well as thoughtful re-examinations of works by Wayne Shorter, Henry Mancini, Les McCann as well as a rare English hymn by Geoffrey Shaw.



“The Eastern Seaboard-based Trio This have a lot of that, those, and them going on. From a beautiful modern jazz perspective…this threesome has made a wonderfully attractive, imaginative musical statement…McAll’s original music, tacked onto to some very intelligent choices for covers -- or reinterpretations to be accurate -- and two compositions from Schuller add up to a collection of works that flows in steady currents like any of the purest, cleanest rivers or streams…this album comes easily recommended among the glut of efforts in this format, rising well above most of them.” AllMusic.com

*** “Composition and performance balance beautifully throughout this collection of originals and a few covers.” Downbeat Magazine

“That is good music, good listening, an intimate session of like-minded players having fun creating a memorable experience.  Ease into it and allow the sweet sounds to take hold.” Steptempest.blogspot.com